The Books


The Lost Property Office introduces the Section 13 series, and leads readers into the mysterious world of London’s secretive Elder Ministries: the Ministry of Trackers, the Ministry of Secrets, the Ministry of Guilds, and the Ministry of Dragons. Deep beneath the concrete and cobblestones of England’s capital, lie cathedral chambers and dark, rushing rivers, where history, science, and magic converge. Jack Buckles, an American teen, is about to discover his place within it all.

Thirteen-year-old Jack Buckles is great at finding things. Not just a missing glove or the other sock, but things normal people have long given up on ever seeing again. If only he could find his father, who has disappeared in London without a trace.

But Jack’s father was not who he claimed to be. It turns out that he was a member of a secret society of detectives that has served the crown for centuries—and membership into the Lost Property Office is Jack’s inheritance.

Now the only way Jack will ever see his father again is if he finds what the nefarious Clockmaker is after: the Ember, which holds a secret that has been kept since the Great Fire of London. Will Jack be able to find the Ember and save his father, or will his talent for finding things fall short?

– – Book Expo America Buzz Book

– – 2017 Silver Falchion Award for Children’s Mystery/Fantasy


In The Fourth Ruby, the Section 13 adventure continues as Jack and Gwen are framed for the theft of the Crown Jewels.

It’s been a year since Jack Buckles discovered the Keep beneath Baker Street, an underground tower no Section Thirteen was ever supposed to see; a year since his dad fell into a coma. Nothing has been the same since. Jack’s tracker abilities are on the fritz, Gwen’s not speaking to him and, what’s worse, there’s a pounding voice in his head calling for “the flame.”

Jack and Gwen are framed for the theft of a historic crown jewel—the Black Prince’s Ruby, one of three cursed rubies said to bring knowledge, loyalty, and the command of nations to whomever wields them all. Now, they must retrieve the other gems before the true thief does, or risk unleashing a reign of terror unlike anything history’s ever seen.

– –  2018 Silver Falchion Award for Juvenile Fiction

In The Clockwork Dragon, the epic conclusion to the action-packed Section 13 series, Jack discovers new abilities, travels to exciting lands, and thwarts a conspiracy brewing deep within the ministries.

Jack Buckles is on trial for his life.

The Ministries of Secrets and Guilds, led by Ignatius Gall, are conspiring to put the Ministry of Trackers down for good—starting with Jack’s very existence as a Section 13. His only hope is to prove that Gall is the real danger, not him, and it leads Jack and Gwen from the back streets of London, through the Austrian Alps, to the great reaches of central China.

Joined by their new friend Liu Fai, Jack and Gwen set out to stop Gall before he can uncover ancient Chinese artifacts, said to grant immortality. But a clockwork monster threatens them at every turn, and its turning gears only serve as a reminder that Jack’s judgment day is fast approaching—and that he’s running out of time.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.